These people (or an ode to pride)

I really appreciated the opportunity to attend the celebration of Trans Pride Day, at Sherbourne Health Centre. It was an occasion in which I did not feel like an outcast – even though I was not en femme -, because it was not absurd that a man wears a nice dress or a woman has a male gender identity. The lines below came at around 4am of the following night of sleep:

These people (or an ode to pride)

Who are these people,

In their clothes and shoes,

Mannerisms and hairstyles,

Challenging social norms

Like it’s nobody’s business?

.

Never seen them before,

But clearly there was a part of me in them.

Who are these people,

Speaking of pride and liberation,

While I philosophize about who I really am.

.

Some other people seem to know well

Who these people are, after all.

Their words are filled with social norms

And a particular kind of medical knowledge.

Their certainty scares me.

.

Who are these people?, I might not know.

If they are just crazy, then crazy I am, too.

But fact is, the pride I felt in that room

Was the pride of free people,

Perhaps liberating another perplex soul.

.

Viviane V.

Deixe um comentário

